Friday, October 8, 2010

The Nationwide Highway Traffic Basic safety Administration rolls out a brand new wellbeing ranking {system|program|method

The National Highway Visitors Safe practices Administration rolls out a brand new wellbeing rating system Tuesday -- one with more rigorous requirements.

"More stars equal safer vehicles," Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood said inside a assertion.

"With our upgraded Five-Star Safe practices Ratings Process, we're raising the bar on wellbeing. Through new assessments, superior crash information, and higher requirements, we are generating the wellbeing scores tougher and more meaningful for consumers."

The wellbeing scores array from one to 5 stars, with 5 stars being the highest.

The agency will release on Tuesday the scores for the first 2011-model-year autos evaluated beneath the new system -- 55 total: 24 passenger vehicles, 20 SUVs, two vans and 9 pickups.

"For over 30 many years, NHTSA's 5-star crash testing program has been the gold standard for consumers looking to buy the safest vehicles around the marketplace for his or her families," NHTSA Administrator David Strickland said in July when the new system was introduced.

"Now, this good program has gotten even superior by generating it simpler to evaluate the wellbeing performance of autos not only when it comes to crash survivability, but when it comes to avoiding crashes in the initial place."

The new scores will include an general vehicle score, which combines the outcomes of a frontal crash test, aspect crash assessments and rollover resistance assessments. For the first time, the test also will use female crash test dummies to similate problems that have an effect on ladies.

Related articles:
why women are better drivers

senior drivers pay more for car insurance

young people buy fewer cars

No comments:

Post a Comment